Never Let a Serious Christian Crisis Go to Waste

Image

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock, you’ve seen quite a bit of rage and Christian drama recently. First, the U.S. branch of World Vision (a Christian charity) in the span of two days publicly announced that they were going to hire individuals in homosexual marriages–only to rescind the decision to days later in an outpouring of Christian leaders, bloggers, and financial supporters going up at arms. You can read the Christianity Today announcements of both decisions here.

Second, the Hollywood Blockbuster “Noah” recently hit the big screen. And the Christian community erupted again. Some Christians loved the artful telling of the story, while others raged that it strayed too far from the Biblical account. They labeled it “evil”. 

Or even a little further back Pastor Mark Driscoll and Mars Hill Church received fire for trying to manipulate the New York Times Best-Seller list. Driscoll offered an apology, and the internet took storm–some supporting him, some calling him a liar.

I could go into a blog post about how I feel about either on of these pop cultural happenings. But I won’t. Not because I don’t have a belief either way, but because I am personally sickened by how Christian bloggers and leaders utilize controversy for their own ends. In the musical “The Newsies”, I think I remember there being a song about how much the news industry loves disaster (war, famine, ect) because it helps them sell newspapers. 

I think that many public Christian figures have the same deep rooted desire to see Christian drama hit the fan. Then they can post a venomous argument supporting or attacking an organization, decision, or Hollywood movie. They sit back and watch their blogs and Facebook pages shoot to the moon with visits and comments. Most, unsurprisingly make add revenue off of their pages, or perhaps are trying to sell their latest book. 

I am ashamed. I am ashamed of our Christian ladder-climbers. I am ashamed of how we attack each other in comments. I am ashamed that as brothers and sisters in Christ, we cannot have honest, Godly conversations about these topics without seeking to promote ourselves, or stir up the pot of controversy.

So next time, talk with your friends and family face-to-face. If you’re a nobody like me, no one will care what you say on the internet. If you are someone popular–take great care. Be a servant to the kingdom, not someone seeking a better seat at the Christian banquet table. 

(I intentionally never connect this blog to my personal name because I know that my pride deeply desires to be famous [see earlier post])

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

