Impossible Not to Die

Jesus knew the time was coming.

His death.

His resurrection.

The salvation of many.

Yet, his heart was in agony. The physical, emotional, and spiritual torment that he was going to experience was greater than any  pain ever experienced. And he prayed to his Father.

“My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me…”

If it be possible. Please let it be possible. Let there be another way.

…nevertheless, not as I will but as you will.”

Father, I ultimately trust you. It’s not about what I want. It’s about what you want. It’s about who you love.

“My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.”

If there is no other way, I will drink this cup. I will bear the sins of the world on my shoulders. If you really love them that much, I will walk this road. I will bear this cross. I will wear this crown.

God’s love for us made it impossible for him not to die for us.

Matthew 26 (ESV)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

